On New Adventures.

by amyovergaard

Image

Sometimes life moves so slowly, inching along, and you feel like you can’t move forward no matter how hard you try — like you’re stuck in a fog and you’re not sure what your next step should be. And then one day, when you least expect it, the sun bursts through the clouds and suddenly everything is clear, your path is before you. It turns out all of that muddled, over-thought, anxiety-ridden period in your life was just a time of patience and waiting for the thing that you are most meant to do.

Last week was a big one in my life for several reasons, not least of which because of my new position with Thirty Two Magazine. Thirty Two is a recent start-up out of Minneapolis; a quarterly print magazine, it is “Minnesota’s forward-looking culture and ideas magazine with a literary edge.” This beautiful publication basically embodies the kind of journalism I’m currently interested in, and I’m so pleased to join the editorial team as a publishing assistant. I met with Katie, the founder and editor, last week and she offered me the position, just days after I applied (this stands in stark contrast to the many, many applications I’ve sent out with absolutely no response). I started this week and I am so excited for what this opportunity has in store for me. It’s just a part-time gig for now, so I’m still working over at Dunn Bros, but I see huge potential in this magazine and I can’t wait to see what’s in store. Everything just fell into place with this position, and it feels like it is absolutely, exactly where I’m supposed to be right now. It was so worth the many months of waiting to find this opportunity.

So, you should all go out and buy a copy (you can find the stocklist here) and see what it is I will be contributing to. Some of my work will be editorial, and some will be on the marketing and distribution side, all of which I’m very excited to do.

A bit more about Thirty Two:

thirty two is a new magazine for the Twin Cities: thought-provoking, intellectually engaging and full of energy, Thirty Two shines a new light on our region and lends a voice to the national conversation. Everywhere you look, modern life is an experiment on an unprecedented scale. At thirty two, we see a unique opportunity to reflect on how global trends affect our region; helping our readers better understand the big picture while also nourishing a deeper connection with our region. Minneapolis and St. Paul have undergone major changes over the past decades, attracting both corporate and cultural leaders as well as some of the best and brightest young professionals in the country. Yet, while the metro area counts more inhabitants than cities such as Denver, San Diego and Portland, we struggle to claim our cultural place in the nation. Great cities don’t just happen —they require us to constantly reexamine our goals and re-envision our future.

 

Wonderful, no? It’s more than I could have hoped for. Patience and persistence — turns out they pay off.

 

Photo via Modern Hepburn

