Book Club: Wuthering Heights

by amyovergaard

So, I’ve been trying to read Wuthering Heights for a couple of months now, and I have to be honest, it’s been a challenge. I keep putting it on hold whenever I find a book that’s more interesting, which normally I would feel bad about, but with Wuthering Heights it’s almost a relief to take a break. You see, so far (and I’m about half-way through) there’s really nothing too enjoyable about the storyline. It just trudges along. And quite frankly, I don’t like any of the characters. It’s pretty tough to like a book and want to read it when you dislike everyone you’re reading about. But it’s a classic and I feel like I should be loving it! So, tell me, have you read Wuthering Heights before? Does it get better? Is it worth persevering to the end? I hate quitting a book in the middle, but I’m feeling awfully tempted with this one.

I read Jane Eyre two years ago, which was difficult to get into, but once I got past the first 60 or so pages I was absolutely hooked and it is now one of my favorite books. So I was hoping this other Bronte novel would be the same way and just keep getting better. But with half of the book behind me I’m starting to lose hope. What shall I do?

I have loved exactly one part of the books so far, and that is what Catherine says about Heathcliff: “Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.” Now that’s some beautiful writing. I only wish the rest were as lovely!

