On beginning again. Cheers.

by amyovergaard

Image

Happy New Year friends! What a year 2012 was, full of changes, transition and the great unknown. I graduated from college with a BA in Journalism (with absolutely no plans of what to do afterward). I interned at a newspaper over the summer. I did an editing job this fall and have written a couple of freelance articles. I got a job at Dunn Bros Coffee and learned to make a mean latte. I have made new friends. So many lovely people have entered my life who have been such an encouragement in this strange year of transition. I have cherished old friends, and seen many walk into new phases in their lives, whether that’s moving overseas, getting married, finding a grown-up job or having a baby. I took a spur-of-the-moment trip to New York City. I was in two weddings. I have asked questions, felt pain and peace. I’ve learned more about who I am and who I want to be.

There were times this year when I was so overwhelmed that I just wanted to run away. There were other times that I wanted the clock to stop so that I could savor a beautiful moment for just a little longer. It’s been a strange year of ups and downs as I took stock of my first 22 years and tried to find direction as I embark on an unknown trail — no longer are my days defined by class schedules, activities and homework assignments. It’s been interesting to figure out what a day looks like when I have to give it structure, when nothing dictates my schedule but me. Change is hard. I’ve never been so great with it. I like consistency and predictability. I dream big and crave adventure, yet the unknown kind of scares me (See previous post: This is not a new thing for me). I still don’t really have things figured out, but I have big hopes for 2013. This year is bound to surprise me because, frankly, my plans in it are few and the road is open before me. I didn’t write much in 2012, and my last few posts have been pretty introspective, but I’m aiming to give myself more time for this little space, to practice my writing and have a little fun. It’s good for me to get things out of my head. Just writing these words out give me hope for the future, and that’s something I definitely need.

So cheers to a new year, new plans, new surprises, new books, new jobs, new friends, new cities. And to cherishing all the old things in your heart, to knowing where you came from and what made you who you are. We’re going to have fun this year. We’re going to be inspired, challenged and daring. January 1 is really just another day, but for humans who so desperately need a little hope, it’s a way for us to begin again, to change what we aren’t satisfied with, to try something new. What are your hopes for this new year? I want to learn more discipline. I want to see new places. I want to join a book club. I want to give more of my time to those who need it. I want to learn to better express myself, not just on paper, but in person — to share my heart, be brave enough to confront things, to stand up for myself. I want to find a writing job. It’s going to be a good year, a year of dreaming and believing. I can feel it in my bones. Let’s enjoy it, shall we?

 

Photo: Source Unknown.

